Geocaching: Great, now I’m that guy!

Do I get the smiley?

I just had my first run in with the law. The final stage of my first multi-cache was the subject of a suspicious package call. Crap – I just became that guy. The ones we all make fun of. You know, the guy that thinks he is being creative by hiding that homemade PVC pipe cache a little too close to a sensitive area. Oops here comes the bomb squad. Then there is the cache that is just an old soda bottle that gets mistaken for trash (not a big stretch) and it gets tossed away. Ok so mine wasn’t something that lame, thankfully.

The final was for the Det. Reece geocache and was a large, old, and really cool trunk i found at the thrift store. I really wanted it to be an urban cache despite the size and complexity of the stages. So, I searched and searched until I came upon the perfect spot. I found a deep ravine right in the middle of town. Bingo! It even took me using a climbing rope to get to the bottom without landing on my tail. So, I made the climb down into this ditch at least three times before I felt it was the right location. I enlisted a muggle buddy and we chained the cache to a concrete structure.

One day later, ONE DAY, and I get a call from the local police. Some kids were playing in the ditch and came upon the box. Here is where I give the police department credit. They did not blow it up. Yay for me. In fact once they cut the lock off, they had to, the responding officer looked inside and found my information by way of this blog. Kudos for him. He let me know what happened and I rushed down to retrieve my cache.

The good news is all of the trackables I made, just for launch from this cache, were still inside. Even more, the FTF prize, all of the swag, and the props to go along with this cache’s story were all safely inside. Score! Now, I still don’t know why some random kids were playing down in this ditch – great job monitoring your kids parents. Regardless, it has convinced me that it is not worth the effort to put such a large cache inside the city limits.

I guess I can check police contact off of my geocaching list now. At least it didn’t end in an explosion. Anyway, I will now be concentrating my efforts on getting off road and hiding my caches from now on. This was probably a god thing in retrospect because I was really sweating putting so much effort into a cache series only to have it muggled. GeoWifey just couldn’t wait to rub this one in.

So my question for the this post is about geocaching away from the paved roads.

Have you ever done any 4X4 geocaching?

If so, leave me a post with some tips.

 

9 thoughts on “Geocaching: Great, now I’m that guy!

  1. We Always rent a Jeep when we go out west. On our Yellowstone trip several of our successful cache finds were 4X4 assisted in Wyoming and Idaho. Had great views and would never had gone up those mountains if caches weren’t there. The Arizona dessert around Phoenix is full of 4X4 caches, as well as the 4X4 drive to Crown King north of Lake Pleasant and all the trails leading north to the Grand Canyon area.

    1. Very cool. We have only been on one true 4X4 geocaching run since starting geocaching but it definitely caught our interest. We got to enjoy both the off road trip up into the mountains and grabbing some out of the way geocaches. We plan on getting out to Mt. Rushmore soon and it looks like there are some near there. I haven’t really found much info on 4X4 geocaching groups on line yet. If you know of any, please pass it along.

  2. Around here, you can pretty much walk anywhere you might need a 4×4 to reach. I took my Beetle down some dirt roads that were meant to be traveled by trucks.

    I prefer caches that are off the beaten path, or at least off the paved path.

    1. I would love to see pics of the beetle on the dirt road. We love caches “off the beaten path” too; especially those that take you somewhere that you would normally never find. Way cool.

  3. For caches that really do need a 4×4 to get to I recommend safety in numbers. I have taken my 2wd a lot of places off road and not got stuck by myself. On the other hand have traveled in 4×4 along really muddy tracks and river beds and if you are going to do serious off road driving you *will* need someone to pull you out at some stage or you are just not doing it right.

  4. You’re so interesting! I don’t think I’ve read through something like this before. So good to find another person with a few unique thoughts on this subject. Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This site is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with a bit of originality!

Leave a Reply

