Is Wherigo worth it?

images

We found our first Wherigo after a GCCO board meeting the other day. I have been wanting to do one for quite a while now but there were never any close by. Finally I was within 25 miles of one. We went out as a group and completed the adventure.

That sounds great but it was unfortunately not quite that simple. We first had to download the cartridge. That was an experience all in itself. Only one of us out of five was able to get it downloaded successfully. We walked through the adventure and made it to the final. We got our smiley – Yay! That was the good part.

Now for the bad part. The program itself was rather clunky and primitive. I really love the idea of being able to set up stour and a virtual multi cache but I think Wherigo has a long way to go . It gets much much worse when you look at the software to create a Wherigo cartridge. It was a nightmare the last time I checked.

I have reached out to a few cachers that have built some and I think I just have to give it a try. Groundspeak has signed off on it so there must be some future for them right?

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-17 at 12.20.59 PM

Leave a Reply

