Somewhere Between the Malbec and the Cabernet

wineI stumbled upon the greatest little wine shop this weekend.  I chatted with the owner for quite some time and discovered he majored in English in college.  The obvious question followed…how did you get into the wine business? I don’t know that he ever told me what originally started his journey in the beer/wine industry but one thing became abundantly clear and that was that he has a passion for fine wine and he has parlayed that passion into a career.

This one interaction with a small business owner in town got me to thinking.  What is my passion?  I have often had difficulty answering that question.  Forget passion, I have difficulty just describing my hobbies to anyone.  The problem being that I really don’t have any hobbies.  I never seem to make time for the things that are just fun.  I have gotten so good at managing work, mother hood, married life, house cleaning, bill paying, etc. that I honestly cannot answer one simple question…what do you like to do?

Part of this changing directions journey on which I have embarked is to find out who I am in my middle-aged adulthood.  A good place to start might be finding my passion or at least developing a few hobbies.   I don’t think I have an answer to the passion question just yet but I think the journey starts in a local wine shop on a shelf between Malbec and Cabernet.  Anyone that knows me knows that I love nothing more than a fine glass of wine so why not learn more about the topic.  Why not throw caution to the wind and go for it?  I have decided to do just that and  enroll in a Level 1 Sommelier course for beginners.  I will either love it or hate it but it will be new, exciting and one more step on the way to finding that elusive passion and I have a small town wine shop owner to thank for it.

Leave a Reply

