A funny thing happened on the way to a geocache…

I think the bridge won.
I think the bridge won.

As geocachers we tend to go places others don’t in search of our next smiley. Others would say that climbing under a rickety abandoned bridge as the swelling river rages past is just plain silly. Add to that that we do this to find a container filed with worthless trinkets long ago discarded by someone we may never have even met and.. ok now that I think about it we are kind of crazy. I don’t care – I love it. This little beauty, soon to be a fairly pronounced shiner, came from climbing under such a bridge. We went out with Team Kaiketsu to grab GCN4T5 Predator and Prey located on the East side of Ft. Collins, Colorado. Seemed simple enough until I slipped in some loose dirt and trying to right myself collided with a steel beam. Yep, you guessed it the beam won. In fact, I nearly knocked myself unconscious. When I emerged from the bridge all I could do was laugh.

still happy
still happy

The bad thing is… we couldn’t get to the cache because of the level of the river. But… you can rest assured, we will get the smiley on this particular cache – even if it kills me.

One thought on “A funny thing happened on the way to a geocache…

Leave a Reply

