GeoBlogger 20 Questions

I was recently contacted by another geocacher/blogger. He sent me a list of 20 questions about geocaching and blogging. After reading through them I thought I would fill them out and post them . He has done the same with other geocachers. You can see their answers on his blog: Washknight Geocaching Blind.

Fell free to post your answers to these questions here or on his site.

When and how did you first get into geocaching?

This is an easy one because I have told this story many times. The quickest way to get this answer is to read our About Us section.

Do you remember your first find?

This kind of refers back to the first one but I can say that I do remember my first find however it was nothing special.

What device(s) do you use for locating caches?

We typically use the iPhone for finding 99.9% of the caches we have found. We also have a Magellan Explorist GC. We use it sometimes but most of our caching is on the fly so – not so useful.

Where do you live and what is your local area like for geocaching? (density / quality / setting etc)

We live in Northern Colorado so we have a good variety of terrains to chose from. We have urban caches as well as caches that require ropes and technical climbing experience to reach.

What has been your most memorable geocache to date, and why?

My most memorable cache that I have done would have to be The Boston Freedom Trail Wherigo in Boston Massachusetts. Mafia Wife and I completed this one while on a trip to New England. The Wherigo takes you on a tour of several historic sites around Boston proper. It is definitely worth the walk if you are ever in the area.

List 3 essential things you take on a geocaching adventure excluding GPS, pen and swaps.

We typically bring water for hikes, a phone for a lifeline, and a friend. We love to cache with others so that is probably my favorite thing on the list.

Other than geocaches and their contents, What is the weirdest thing you have discovered whilst out caching?

We have come across a novelty condom and a baggie of marijuana. Those are close to weirdest but not the winner. One time we were out on a mountain trail with a group of other geocachers and came across a odd looking white colored stone. We picked it up and were going to use it to hide a geocache of our own. As we examined the rock further, we located some faded writing on one side. It appeared to be some sort of memorial left by a hiker a long time ago. We promptly returned it to its resting spot and moved on.

On a scale of 1 to 10 where 1 is I am obsessed by numbers and 10 is I am all about the experience and the quality of each individual cache. Where do you put yourself?

I would say that I (Memfis) am somewhere around an 8.5 to 9. I much prefer the experience. I am perfectly content spending the night in my Jeep then hiking for twelve hours to get one geocache. Mafia Wife rates herself as a 6, leaning slightly to the side of experience over purely numbers. While she like power trail type runs much more than I do, she also likes the new experience that come with travel. We all like numbers somewhat or we would not log our caches to begin with.

Describe one incident that best demonstrates the level of your geocaching obsession.

Mafia Wife answered this question for me referring to “The Swim”. The short version is that I swam to a 5 terrain geocache on an island that requires a boat. The long version is in this post: “I almost died while geocaching.” Yes it was stupid but I got the Smiley.

Have you picked up any caching injuries along the way?

20140706-062255-22975092.jpg

I think the bridge won.
I think the bridge won.

Oh yeah. I have been injured several times. I have fallen and banged my head on a bridge cutting my face open. I have picked up many bumps and bruises, and have been covered from head to toe with poison ivy. It happens to all of us but I do tend to put myself into those crazy situations more than others. My wife must think I’m a moron but I have trouble backing down from a challenge.

What annoys you most about other geocachers?

The most annoying thing is when geocachers get so obsessed with the game that they don’t respect others. We have a huge GeoArt project here in Colorado and recently a group came through like a tornado. Since they were so focused on getting the numbers, they replaced, damaged and leapfrogged their way across the state. Why? This is a game and when people forget that they also seem to forget their manners.

What is the dumbest thing you have done whilst out caching?

Again, I will have to point to swimming to a terrain 5 boating cache. Dying for a geocache would have been so undignified- but give me time. I;’m bound to do something else even worse.

What do your non caching family and friends think of your hobby?

If they don’t geocache they are no longer friends. Just kidding. We have converted many of our family and friends into geocachers. The rest will be geocachers they just don”t know it yet.

What is your default excuse you give to muggles who ask what you are up to or if you need help?

I usually say that I am on a scavenger hunt. If they take that and leave I go back to caching. If they show an interest, I will talk with them as long as they will listen. I have no trouble talking to random strangers and I have converted many muggles into geocachers because of it.

What is your current geocaching goal, if you have one?

Our current goal that we are working on is to complete the Jasmer Challenge. For those not familiar, the goal of this challenge is to find at least one geocache that was hidden in every month since geocaching began. This is proving to be fairly difficult and it looks like we will be a making a road trip to Utah in order to complete the challenge.

Do you have a nemesis cache that despite multiple attempts you have been unable to find?

Not currently, but we had a simple hide a couple of years ago that took us at least five trips to find. It wasn’t a tricky hide but we just could not see it. It was a green bison tube in a pine tree that should have taken us five minutes on the first day. ARGH.

What 3 words or phrases best sum up what geocaching means to you.

adventure, friendship, fun

Adventure is obvious. Geocaching has led us to many fun places and even funnier stories. Friendship comes in because outside of work, we meet more people while geocaching than at any other time. We have met people in our home town and across the world through geocaching. Fun is another obvious one. When it stops being fun we will move on to something else.

What prompted you to start blogging about geocaching?

We started to blog about geocaching and our travels because so many funny things have happened to us. We also blog because we live away from most of our family so it is an easy way to keep in touch. We continue to blog because people seem to enjoy our stories and we have connected with many people through our blog.

Which of your own blog entries are you most proud of.

This is a hard one. I have enjoyed writing the blog and each entry os about a true experience for us. If I have to pick one I would point to: Geocaching: Great, now I’m that guy. It was a post about the time the bomb squad was called one one of my geocaches. Yes, I have made fun of other cachers when it happens to them. Then that one fateful day – it happened to me.

Which other geocaching blogs do you enjoy reading?

Wow, this is a loaded question because I read a lot of geocaching blogs. Here are a few:

Cyclonic Adventures

The Geocaching Blog

GeoSnippits

It’s Not aBout the Numbers

4 thoughts on “GeoBlogger 20 Questions

  1. Fantastic! I have to say that reading the entry about “the swim” recently has got to be the longest time I have sat reading a blog with my jaw hanging slackly on the desk in amazement. 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to answer the questions… I will be linking to this post from my site soon. Cheers

Leave a Reply

