Our first CITO

CITO banner

As part of GCCO we got a request recently to speak with a Park Ranger at Boyd Lake State Park about geocaching. I went out and spent an hour teaching the Ranger about geocaching. She seemed very receptive and even signed up for an account while I was there. I went over hides, events and coins. Right before I finished our conversation I mentioned that one of the things geocachers also do is clean up parks. That got her attention. She said she wanted to organize something like that in the park and had no idea how to go about it. I told her about CITO and explained that it was a regular part of geocaching. She was very interested. I told her I could put one together for her and we could get some volunteers out to help clean up. She then asked how many people usually volunteer their time for a CITO. You would have thought I slapped her with free money when I said “oh about twenty five or thirty”. Well fast forward a month and it is time for me to put my money where my mouth is so to speak.

We just had our very first CITO published! Yay! Now I have to figure out how to make it a memorable one for the park, the geocachers, and our family. I’m thinking maybe CITO cupcakes as a reward.

GC5NHB5 Let’s Clean Up Boyd Lake

Leave a Reply

