In June, I went on my annual geocaching trip with two great friends, Barasaur and Waawhoo. The trip itself was amazing but that is not the subject of this post. I wanted to start by talking about a great guy, and geocacher, we met as part of our trip. This trip accomplished many geocaching related purposes, one of which being to go after a particularly old geocache (GC20 Marooned) on an island in the middle of Lake Ranier in Georgia. That requires a little more than swimming, although, I have done that as well. I do not advise it.

For this trip we did the responsible thing and chartered a boat. Luckily for us, we contacted Capt. John who does boat tours and… just so happens to be a geocacher as well. This brings me to the point of this post. People like Capt. John and others who work in a different industry but that are “secretly” Geocaching Friendly make trips like ours so much more enjoyable.

I know Geocaching is supposed to be this mysterious game that we secretly play under the noses of muggles but… c’mon, is it really? I think that time has passed. People know about geocaching and while we still need to be stealthy, it is ok to discuss the game publicly. Capt. John exercises discretion and is very reserved in how he advertises his business, at least the part about finding geocaches. In other situations, I have seen where organizations have announced an event on the town “Welcome Sign” and run ads in the local newspaper. In short, we are all over the board when it comes to advertising our secret game.

How do we involve more businesses, converting them into geocaching friendly partners, without making the game a corporate sponsored activity?

Leave a comment